RSS
Aside
02 Jan

It was definatly my year of growth. Career wise, relationship wise and as a person.

Topping my 2014 list, here are a few highlights:

1.) There’s nothing like a five minute nap, it changes everything. So does a shower and a hairdo.
2.) I used to hate noisy neighbors till I read David Livingstones’ “Missionary Travels and Researches in South Africa” He writes: “My reading while at work was carried on by placing the book on a portion of the spinning-jenny, so that I could catch sentence after sentence as I passed at my work; I thus kept up a pretty constant study undisturbed by the roar of the machinery. To this part of my education I owe my present power of completely abstracting the mind from surrounding noises, so as to read and write with perfect comfort amid the play of children or near the dancing and songs of savages.”(Yes, I had to ignore the word savages)?!?
…And back in my room I realized I need to get off my butt and pray.
3.) Electricity is over-rated. Fire, clean water and food is it. I can get clean with 10 cups of water.
4.) If you don’t like the person you’re dating, and you keep seeing them, it’s like being stranded on an island with a stranger…and since you’ve been hallucinating anyway (seeing as you’re still taking their calls, meeting and investing your time and efforts there), back on the island, one of you will feel the need to eat ‘real’ protein at some point…besides the fish and bugs on the island?!? Get out fast::It’s better to be lonely and sane (fixable), than lonely and insane (you’re of no use to yourself or society).
5.) Loving someone who’s been raised in a loving home is awesome. Loving someone who’s not been shown genuine wholesome parental love can lead to you teaching them how to love; then either the person can decide to love you back or go find someone else to love. Therefore be wise and have boundaries on who or what you choose to make your responsibility.
6.) Dating a last born::Based on how loved my babies are and especially the last born, I wonder who he will bother looking for love from..answer, no one. He is whole and confident and knows how to love. So he will know how to give and receive love. All children should be so loved that they ooze love in wholesome building ways as adults.
7.) No matter how many times you wear your favorite pair of shoes, scent, watch, earrings, tie, belt or pants; the feeling you get is always the same…oh baby!!! It’s like you’re dancing in the rain and drying on a sandy beach with a tall glass of tropical juice. So, who cares how many times you wear the same thing as long as it makes you feel good? Don’t live to keep up appearances.
8.) Share what you know. Knowledge increases (in you) the more you give it out.
9.) We can all be idiots and do stupid things. We can all be a Pita (pain in the arse). It’s just important not to be all those things at once.
10.) Some of the best quotes I read this year:

……there are really only two steps to simplifying your life:
– Identify what’s most important to you.
– Eliminate as much as you possibly can of everything else.
****
True freedom is not the right to do as we please. It is the power to do what is right!
****
Grace does not grant permission to live in the flesh; it supplies power to live in the Spirit. -John MacArthur. Via BDCB.
****
“Where people spend their time and money is where they should get their joy.”
BDCB.
****
Happy New Year peeps! God bless you. Looking forward to blog more

Lessons for 2014

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
